

## HONORARY CHAIRS

The Honorable James E. "Jimmy" Carter President of the United States (1977-1981)

The Honorable George H.W. Bush President of the United States (1989-1993)

The Honorable William J. "Bill" Clinton President of the United States (1993-2001)

The Honorable George W. Bush President of the United States (2001-2009)

The Honorable Barack H. Obama President of the United States (2009-2017)

## COMMISSIONERS AND APPOINTING AUTHORITY

Chair, Mr. Terry Hamby (Senate Majority Leader)

Vice Chair, Mr. Edwin L. Fountain (Senate Majority Leader)

Ms. Debra Anderson (Veterans of Foreign Wars)

Cmdr. Zoe Dunning, USNR (Ret.) (House Minority Leader)

Mr. Jerry L. Hester (Senate Minority Leader)

Col. Thomas Moe, USAF (Ret.) (Speaker of the House)

Mr. John Monahan (American Legion)

Dr. Matthew Naylor (National WWI Museum)

Dr. Libby O'Connell (President Barack Obama)

Ambassador (Ret.) Tod Sedgwick (President Barack Obama)

Dr. Monique Brouillet Seefried (Speaker of the House)

Maj. Gen. Alfred A. Valenzuela, USA (Ret.) (President Barack Obama)

## Bells of Peace: A World War I Remembrance

<u>A National Tolling of Bells to Honor Those Who Served in the</u> Great War

WHEREAS, a century ago 4.7 million American families sent their sons and daughters off to World War I;

WHEREAS, the resources of our entire nation were brought to bear on the war effort;

WHEREAS, 116,516 Americans gave their lives in the war, and more than 200,000 were wounded;

WHEREAS, the tolling of bells is a traditional expression of honor and remembrance; and

WHEREAS, in November 2018 the world will commemorate the 100th anniversary of the Armistice that ended the fighting in World War I at 11:00 a.m., November 11, 1918 -- the eleventh hour of the eleventh day of the eleventh month;

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the United States World War I Centennial Commission does hereby call upon all Americans across the nation to toll bells in remembrance of those who served in World War I at 11:00 a.m. on November 11, 2018.

Terry W. Hamby Chair

Washington, D.C. April 6, 2018